Who are we?

Adventure UK was formed as a response to the outcome of the consultation by the Health and Safety Executive into the future of licensing.

It aims to be a representative body for the adventure activities sector.  The structure of Adventure UK is shown below

The Adventure UK Council is made up of the following organisations, the table also indicates the role on the council, should you feel you aren’t represented by the current council please email chair@adventureuk.org.uk

OrganisationMember Observer AdvisorRepresentative
Activities Industry MutualASophia Reed
Adventure Activities AssociatesAIain Peter
Adventure Activity Industry Advisory Panel CommitteeMAndy Taylor
Adventure Industry Northern IrelandMCraig McCullough
Adventure RMSOTim Morton
Association of Heads of Outdoor Education CentresMDave Squire
British Activity Providers AssociationMPaul Kenwright
British CyclingMDan Cook
Option 3 Working GroupMMike Rosser
Council for Learning Outside the ClassroomOAnne Hunt
European Ropes Course AssociationMLinda Green
Expedition Providers AssociationMMark Brazier
Health and Safety ExecutiveAFrances Kelly
IndividualAIan Lewis
Institute for Outdoor LearningMAndy Robinson
Mountain Training TrustORuth Hall
Mountain Training UKIMJohn Cousins
Outdoor Alliance WalesMPaul Donovan
Outdoor Council / Chair Adventure UK BoardMMartin Smith
Outdoor Education Advisors PanelMGary Burns
Scottish Advisory Panel for Outdoor EducationMNeil Wightwick
Scottish Outdoor ConsortiumMJane Campbell Morrison
Scout AssociationMAsa Gurden
Sport and Recreation AllianceMMax Nicholes
Sport Wales National Outdoor CentreMSteve Morgan
Outdoor Alliance WalesMPaul Donovan
Young Explorers TrustMGraham Derrick

The current board has been selected from the Council to ensure a true representation from across our sector. 

The board, initially serving three years, is as follows

Constituency (nominated by)Name of Board RepresentativeDate of AppointmentOrganisation / Sector
Northern Ireland OutdoorsCraig McCulloughSeptember 2021 
Trever FisherSeptember 2021 
Scottish Outdoor ConsortiumJane Campbell MorrisonSeptember 2021 
Neil WightwickApril 2022 
Outdoor Alliance WalesPaul DonovanSeptember 2021 
Steve MorganSeptember 2021 
Outdoor Council (England)Dave SquireDecember 2021 
Gary BurnsSeptember 2021 
National Governing BodiesJohn CousinsSeptember 2021Mountain Training
Third SectorAsa GurdenSeptember 2021Scouts
Outdoor Education and LearningAndy RobinsonSeptember 2021Institute of Outdoor Learning
Adventure TourismGraham DerrickSeptember 2021Expeditions

The Option 3 Working Group was created to work on detailed proposals for the creation of a non-statutory scheme. Its membership is made up of members of Adventure UK co-opted to meet the groups needs. Membership of this group has a fluidity to meet the changing needs as its work progresses. Currently the members are

Mike RosserChair
Asa GurdenScout Association
Andy RobinsonInstitute for Outdoor Learning
Craig McCulloughAdventure Industry Northern Ireland
Neil WightwickScottish Advisory Panel Scotland
Jane Campbell MorrisonScottish Outdoor Consortium
Dave SquireAssociation of Heads of Outdoor Centres
Graham DerrickYoung Explorers Trust
Paul DonovanWales Adventure Tourism Organisation
Paul KenwrightBritish Activity Providers Association
Andy TaylorAdventure Activity Industry Advisory Committee
Kim HudsonCouncil for Learning Outside the Classroom

To learn more about the work of AAIAC and the committee please visit the AAIAC website